Board of Directors

As of January 2024, the Ashby Land Trust Board of Directors consists of:

Vicki Mickola, President – term expires 2025

Vicki joined the board in 2019. Her background is in Early Childhood Education as an educator as well as a director of a Family Child Care System. Her interest in farming and the environment has been lifelong; climbing trees and hanging out in the woods as a child and hiking, kayaking, mushrooming and sustainably farming as an adult. She and her husband have a Forest Legacy Conservation Restriction on their land in Ashby and believe strongly in such programs to leave a legacy for generations to come.

Doug Leab, Treasurer – term expires 2026

Doug joined the Board in 2014, and became the Treasurer shortly thereafter. He has a BS in Forestry but somehow found himself with 22 years of accounting and finance experience with the Department of Conservation and Recreation. When the spirit moves him, Doug likes to kayak and hike. He also serves as Treasurer and chief painter for the Ashby Historic Society. He moved to Ashby in 2004 and plans to live here running duck races happily ever after.

Bob Leary – term expires 2026

Bob was one of the founding Board members in 1998. He has been a member of the Conservation Commission since 1996, served on the Mount Watatic Management committee for 8 years and is a member of the monitoring committee. He holds a BS in environmental science and is active in many outdoor activities, including sleeping in igloos on the summit of Mount Watatic. He enjoys nature photography and believes that environmental richness and diversity are a sacred trust to maintain.

Michael McCallum – term expires 2025

Mike has been a member of the Board since 2007, and serves on the land protection committee. He served 2 years as a member of the Town Finance Committee and spent over 20 years as Selectman. In his roles as Selectman and Board member he helped shepherd all of Ashby’s early conservation projects to completion, including developing the strategic plan to preserve Mount Watatic.

Cedwyn Morgan – term expires 2024

Cedwyn joined the Board in 2015. He is a geologist by training and trade, and hikes and skis through Ashby’s woods as often as he can. He is a long-time member and current chair of the Board of Health, and serves on the Caton North and Blood Hill Management Committees and in various positions in the Ashby UU Church.

Rebecca Walsh – term expires 2025

Rebecca brings enthusiasm and a love of outdoor activities. She has run a local business in Ashby for 15 years and hopes to forever maintain the rural character of town.

Dan Ewald – term expires 2026

Dan joined the Board in 2020. He holds a MS in Environmental Science and Policy from Clark University, and brings professional experience as an employee of a land trust in New Hampshire. In his spare time, he enjoys fishing, photography, hiking, and hunting. Dan assists with our monitoring and manages the Land Trust Facebook page.

Jeanie Lindquist – term expires 2024

Jeanie was the founding president of the Land Trust in 1998. She led the organization through the Campaign for Watatic, a fundraising project responsible for securing the protection of Mount Watatic. She has led the Land Trust through the Accreditation process in 2014 and Renewal in 2019. A resident of Ashby since 1990, she also serves as the chair of the Planning Board.